Ranking the top 7 head coaches in Dallas Cowboys history

How would you power rank the best head coaches in Dallas Cowboys history?
1991 NFC Divisional Playoff Game - Dallas Cowboys vs Detroit Lions - January 5, 1992
1991 NFC Divisional Playoff Game - Dallas Cowboys vs Detroit Lions - January 5, 1992 / Betsy Peabody Rowe/GettyImages
1 of 6

With a new season approaching. I am noticing the typical talk about Dallas Cowboys head coach Mike McCarthy's job being in danger. The disrespect is unreal.

People seem to have forgotten that McCarthy won against the Dallas Cowboys in 2013 at AT&T Stadium with Matt Flynn as his QB. Not Aaron Rodgers or Brett Favre, but Matt Flynn.

When Dak Prescott got injured and McCarthy had Cooper Rush as his QB, Cowboys Nation believed the season was lost. However, the team won 5 out of 6 games despite the situation, and people do not remember it anymore.

McCarthy developed the QB that Jason Garrett couldn't turn into a capable backup QB, to the extent that some people thought he was better than Dak Prescott.

This seems like the perfect time to look back and rank the top-seven head coaches in Dallas Cowboys history.

7. Jason Garrett (2010-2019)

Jason Garrett took charge of the Cowboys in 2010 and took them to three NFC East championships. Garrett's fundamental weakness was he was learning how to be a head coach on the job and the Cowboys only made the playoffs three times during his tenure. He received the AP Coach of the Year title in 2016.

Despite finishing the regular season with an 85-67 record, Garrett only had a 2-3 record during the playoffs.

The Cowboys are always lacking a coaching advantage with Garrett in charge. In the biggest games, he was frequently out-coached. That he was the head coach for almost ten years is still surprising.

The Cowboys did not make the playoffs after ending the 2019 season with an 8-8 record. They were leading the NFC East until a loss against the Philadelphia Eagles in Week 16. Ultimately, the team gave up on Garrett, just as they did with his predecessor.

Despite the support of Jerry Jones, he wasted the primes of Tony Romo, DeMarcus Ware, Jason Witten, and Tyron Smith.