The 5 former Cowboys nominated for the College Football Hall of Fame

Flozell Adams #76 of the Dallas Cowboys (Photo by Danny Moloshok/Getty Images)
Flozell Adams #76 of the Dallas Cowboys (Photo by Danny Moloshok/Getty Images) /
1 of 5

The College Football Hall of Fame recently released its ballot for the 2023 class. The Hall was started in 1951, and this year 80 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 96 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks have been nominated for the class. There are five former Dallas Cowboys on the list.

According to the National Football Foundation president Steve Hatchell, over 5.54 million people have played college football since the first-ever game and only 1,056 have been added to the hall of fame. That’s .02 percent. The only requirement for nomination is that players must have been a First-Team All-American in college. Players are eligible 10 years after their final college season.

The full list of nominees is below, but let’s take a look at the five Cowboys players who were nominated. One of them is currently a member of the Cowboys!

The 5 former Dallas Cowboys players who are on the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Cowboys, Kevin Smith
2 Nov 1997: Receiver Iheanyi Uwaezuoke #89 of the San Francisco 49ers attempts to elude defensive back Kevin Smith #26 of the Dallas Cowboys during the 49ers 17-10 win at 3Com Park in San Francisco, California. Mandatory Credit: Jed Jacobsohn /Allsport /

5. Kevin Smith, CB, Texas A&M

Kevin Smith played all eight of his NFL years with the Cowboys from 1992-1999. He was a first-round pick in the 1992 draft and won three Super Bowl rings with Dallas. In 103 games with the Cowboys, he had 19 interceptions and 361 tackles. Injuries plagued his career, but he was a longstanding part of the Cowboys roster in their prime.

The Cowboys weren’t a far journey from his college days at Texas A&M. With the Aggies, Smith was an All-SWC player for three years, a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, and an All-American in 1991. He is currently in the A&M Athletic Hall of Fame and holds the Aggie record for 20 interceptions in a season.