Who Is The Real Dallas Cowboy Dream Team?


Los Angeles Laker legend guard Kobe Bryant started a lot of controversy earlier this week when he began comparing this year’s 2012 USA Olympic basketball team to the 1992 USA Olympic Dream Team.  That comparison got me thinking, just how does this year’s Dallas Cowboy team compare to our own Dallas Cowboy Dream Team, the SuperBowl Champion 1992 Dallas Cowboys.

The chart below lists the starting players from both teams and the player with the advantage is marked with a *+ symbol, then that players stats for that year is listed in the last column.  The results may surprise you.  The 1992 Cowboys won the overall battle 15 players to 10 players, however what was surprising is that the best Dallas Cowboy Defensive team ever (The 1992 team allowed the least amount of points scored for any Superbowl champion) lost the battle to the 2012 Cowboys on defense- 6 players to 5 players, mostly thanks to the talented current Dallas Linebacker core naturally led by future Hall Of Famer DeMarcus Ware.

The 1992 Cowboys obviously got the nod on Offense due to the large advantage on the 1992 Offensive line, best fullback ever Moose Johnson, and the Hall of Fame triplets (Aikman, Smith, Irvin).  The 2012 Cowboys did also receive offensive votes for Tony Romo, who statistically should become the best Dallas QB ever when all is said and done. Romo just needs that elusive SuperBowl ring before I can give him the advantage over Aikman.  Jason Witten has earned the title of best Dallas Tight End ever and beat out Jay Novacek who was a good player but nowhere near the talent of Witten.

Therefore, thanks to Kobe Bryant’s question, we can all now conclude that the 1992 Dallas Cowboys are indeed the Dallas Dream Team, but the 2012 Cowboys may still have something to say about that beginning this September, because as we can see this team has the talent to start doing some dreaming of its own.


1992 Dallas Cowboys

2012 Dallas Cowboys

 Summary of Player Stats

Offensive StartersOffensive StartersMarked *+ Player Stats
QBTroy Aikman*+Tony Romo*+346 for 522, 4,184 yards, 31 td, 10 int, & 22 rushes for 46 yards and 1 td
RBEmmitt Smith*+DeMarco Murray373 rushes for 1,713 yards, 18 td. NFL all time rushing leader with 18,355 yards
FBDaryl Johnston*+Lawrence Vickers 17 rushes for 61 yards, 0 td, & 32 catches for 249 yards and 2 td
WRAlvin HarperMiles Austin*+69 catches for 1041 yards, 7 td, & 7 rush for 93 yards and 1 td
WRMichael Irvin*+Dez Bryant78 catches for 1,396 yards, 7 td, & 1 rush for -9 yards and 0 td
TEJay NovacekJason Witten*+79 catches for 942 yards, 5 td
LTMark Tuinei*+Tyron Smith
LGNate Newton*+Nate Livings
CMark Stepnoski*+Phil Costa
RGJohn Gesek*+Bill Nagy
RTErik Williams*+Doug Free
 Defensive StartersDefensive Starters
LDETony Tolbert*+Jason Hatcher8.5 sacks, 0 interceptions, 0 fumbles recovered
LDTLeon Lett*+Josh Brent3.5 sacks, 0 interceptions, 1 fumble recovered
RDTRussell MarylandJay Ratliff*+2.0 sacks, 0 interceptions, 1 fumbles recovered
RDECharles Haley*+Kenyon Coleman6.0 sacks, 0 interceptions, 2 forced fumbles, 5 SB rings
LLBVinson SmithAnthony Spencer*+6.0 sacks, 0 interceptions, 4 fumbles recovered, 66 tackles
MLBRobert JonesSean Lee*+0 sacks, 4 interceptions, 103 tackles
RLBKen NortonDeMarcus Ware*+19.5 sacks, 2 forced fumbles, 99.5 career sacks
LCBKevin R. SmithMorris Claiborne *+Best CB to come out of college since Deion Sanders
RCBLarry BrownBrandon Carr *+0.0 sacks, 4 interceptions, 0 fumble recovered
SSDarren Woodson*+Barry Church 1.0 sacks, 1 fumble recovered, leading tackler in cowboys history – 1350 career tackles
FSJames Washington*+Gerald Sensabaugh0.0 sacks, 3 interceptions, 1 fumble recovered, 95 tackles
 Special Teams Special Teams
KLin ElliottDan Bailey *+32 of 37 field goals & 39 of 39 extra points
PMike Saxon*+Chris Jones 61 punts for a 43.0 average