Dec. 4, 2011; Glendale, AZ, USA; Dallas Cowboys center (67) Phil Costa against the Arizona Cardinals at University of Phoenix Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-US PRESSWIRE

Dallas Cowboys Mid-Year Awards

Interception Award-This one goes to Tony Romo.  Tony is currently on a pace to have 26 interceptions this year.  He could end up leading the league in this category.  Way to go Tony!

Aug 25, 2012; Arlington, TX, USA; Dallas Cowboys fullback Lawrence Vickers prior to the game against the St Louis Rams at Cowboys Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

Invisible Player on Offense Award-This one goes to Lawrence Vickers.  When it comes to lead blocking, no fullback in the league is quite as invisible as Lawrence.

Invisible Player on Defense Award-Matt Johnson wins this one.  Are we sure he is even on the team?  Has anyone ever seen him?

Offensive Penalty Award-This one was tied between Doug Free and Tyron Smith.  Tyron has more upside, so I give this one to Doug.  Nobody does it quite like Doug when it comes to holding and false starts and I find them quite offensive.

Defensive Penalty Award-This one was tough, because penalties on this side of the ball were more spread around.  My choice is DeMarcus Ware for his numerous encroachment penalties.  I’m looking to see which he gets more of this year, sacks or penalties.

Dropped Pass Award-Wow this was a tough one, so many qualified candidates.  Kevin Ogletree gets the edge on this one due to his unique ability to let the ball bounce off his hands into the defender’s hands.

Dropped Interception Award-This award goes to Morris Claiborne for his performance in the game against the Falcons.  Just because the Falcons’ receiver was holding his arm down, and it wasn’t called, doesn’t mean Morris shouldn’t have made the interception anyway does it?

Fumble Award-This one goes to Felix Jones hands-down.  Felix not only found ways to fumble on offense, he was able to even carry it over to special teams.

Missed Tackle Award-This one goes to Orlando Scandrick.  He wasn’t even in the running until he managed to miss two key tackles in the second half alone in the game against the Atlanta Falcons.

Most Injured Offensive Player Award-This one has to go to Phil Costa, even though DeMarco Murray was in the running too.  Costa started the season with three plays and came back several games later to play one game, before being injured again.

Most Injured Defensive Player Award-Dan Connor gets the nod on this one.  This award can’t go to someone that is out for the rest of the season, like Lee, it is reserved for players constantly going in and out of the lineup.  Jay Ratliff was a close second for this one.

Offensive LVP (least valuable player)-This was close.  Choice was between Kevin Ogletree and Lawrence Vickers.  My decision to give Ogletree the nod on this one was because even though Vickers doesn’t do much to help, he doesn’t hurt the team much either.

Defensive LVP-This has to go to Dan Connor.  Dan wasn’t much help early in the season, but hopes were high for him to be able to step up his game, once Sean Lee was lost for the season.  Instead he got hurt, causing us to start a guy (Ernie Sims) that was sitting on his couch on Sundays watching games like the rest of us.

Special Teams LVP-This was a difficult choice with both Dez Bryant and Felix fumbling on kick returns.  The winner is Dez, because the times he didn’t fumble, it sure looked like he was trying to.

Instigator Award-This one goes to Rowdy for his attempted power grab and constant complaining about Jason Garrett’s coaching and play calling.

Clock, What Clock? Award-This one goes to Garrett.  He has the unique ability, to completely ignore the clock at the end of tight games.

Worst Play Calling Award-This one was between Jason Garrett, for the plays he calls in from the sideline, and Tony Romo, for his adjustments at the line of scrimmage.  It goes to Tony, since he seems to confuse the rest of the offense when he changes the play.

Too Many Men on The Field Award-This award goes to Rex Ryan.  His complex defensive packages cause players to be constantly moving on or off the field in between plays and sometimes they get caught when the ball is snapped.  I don’t advise this method when going against a hurry-up offense.

The Coach in Waiting Award-Rob Ryan was a candidate for this one, because he has been mentioned in several comments from fans as someone that should take over for Garrett immediately.  Despite his opinion to the contrary, Rowdy does not make this list.  This award goes to Sean Payton.

Who would be better as the next Cowboys’ Head Coach than the one that got away, going from Offensive Coordinator in Dallas to Head Coach in New Orleans and winning a Super Bowl.  Jerry has a lot of respect for him and Sean’s family lives in the Dallas area as well.  Yeah, let’s get him onboard.  I can’t wait to see how the team performs once the bounty payments start.  With this team though, the bounty system needs to be for the offense!




Next Cowboys Game Full schedule »
Monday, Oct 2727 Oct7:30Washington RedskinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Dallas Cowboys Kevin Ogletree Lawrence Vickers Sean Payton Tony Romo

comments powered by Disqus