Dallas Cowboys: The legacy of the legendary number 88

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Drew Pearson, Dallas Cowboys

Drew Pearson, Dallas Cowboys (Photo by Focus on Sport/Getty Images)

Dallas Cowboys first-round pick CeeDee Lamb announced he will be wearing number 88. Let’s look at the legacy of those who wore that number before him.

Some numbers are known for representing a specific player. The New England Patriots number 12 will always be associated with quarterback Tom Brady. The Dallas Cowboys number 88 carries a legacy, but not of one player.

The Dallas Cowboys number 88 carries the legacy of franchise wide receivers that have proven to be amongst the best in the league during their tenure. With first-round pick CeeDee Lamb wearing the historic number, let’s look at who wore the number before him.

Drew Pearson (1973-1983)

The first of them all was wide receiver, Drew Pearson. After signing on as an undrafted free agent, he emerged as a great wideout in a time before the passing game flourished.

To start, Pearson was not inducted into the Hall of Fame despite many believing he has what it takes to be in Canton. Something that stands out on his resume is making the 1970’s All-Decade team. Regardless of that, he remains on the outside looking in.

Being left out may have to do with making only three Pro Bowls, although he was also an All-Pro in all three of those seasons. The 1975 and 1979 seasons were good enough to be Pro Bowl seasons, but he was ultimately left off.

In 1977, the Cowboys won a Super Bowl. This was in huge part with Pearson playing great, leading the league in yards and yards per game. He also had two 1,000+ yard seasons.

Let’s not leave out the success he had in the playoffs too. In three of the 10 seasons, the Cowboys made the playoffs Pearson had 20+ yards per reception.

It looks as if Pearson fits the description of a great player that was tier one quality but was being viewed as a second-tier player. It is such a shame for a great talent not to be recognized.

Regardless, he had an unofficial Hall of Fame career. One part of the first triplet Cowboys who was enshrined in the Cowboys Ring of Honor. He will never be forgotten and will surely be given the respect he deserves by the Dallas Cowboys and their community.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse