Jan 20, 2014; Mobile, AL, USA; Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones with head coach Jason Garrett seen in the stands of the North squad practice at Ladd-Peebles Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The Cowboys Win The Coin Flip; Get 16th Overall Pick In The Draft

Oct 7, 2012; Jacksonville, FL, USA; Jacksonville Jaguars quarterback Blaine Gabbert (11) and middle linebacker Paul Posluszny (51) watch as umpire Carl Paganelli (124) flips a coin before a game against the Chicago Bears at EverBank Field. Mandatory Credit: Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

The Dallas Cowboys and the Baltimore Ravens shared identical, disappointing 8-8 records at the end of last season. That meant the two teams would have to flip a coin to determine who would end up with the 16th and 17th overall picks in the upcoming 2014 NFL draft. The flip would also determine both teams picks in every other round as well.

The results were confirmed by Cowboy Analyst Bryan Broaddus via Twitter this morning:

“Great news already for Cowboys draft. They won the coin flip with the Ravens for the 16th spot.”

That coin flip took place on Wednesday morning at the NFL Scouting Combine in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Cowboy have never had a selection at #16 overall in their 54 year franchise history. Getting the 16th pick was very important for Dallas as it should aid them in trading up or down within the draft as all of their picks are now worth more.

The last time they had a #17 pick overall was in 1992, the height of their last Super Bowl run. During that draft, the Cowboys selected a cornerback from Texas A&M named Kevin Smith.

Dallas has had luck picking at the 17th overall selection. In 1990, the Cowboys traded up to that spot via the Pittsburgh Steelers to get Hall of Fame running back Emmitt Smith out of the University of Florida.

Here are the last ten first round picks from the previous NFL Drafts at both #16 and #17 selections:

16th Overall First Round Pick

2003 – Pittsburgh Steelers – Troy Polamalu, S – USC
2004 – Philadelphia Eagles – Shawn Andrews, G – Arkansas
2005 – Houston Texans – Travis Johnson, DT – Florida State
2006 – Miami Dolphins – Jason Allen, S – Tennessee
2007 – Green Bay Packers – Justin Harrell, DT – Tennessee
2008 – Arizona Cardinals – Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, CB – Tennessee State
2009 – San Diego Chargers – Larry English, DE – Northern Illinois
2010 – Tennessee Titans – Derrick Morgan, DE – Georgia Tech
2011 – Washington Redskins – Ryan Kerrigan, DE – Purdue
2012 –      New York Jets – Quinton Coples, DE – North Carolina
2013 –      Buffalo Bills – E. J. Manuel, QB – Florida State

17th Overall First Round Pick

2003 – Arizona Cardinals – Bryant Johnson, WR – Penn State
2004 – Denver Broncos – D.J. Williams, LB – Miami (FL)
2005 – Cincinnati Bengals – David Pollack, LB – Georgia
2006 – Minnesota Vikings – Chad Greenway, LB – Iowa
2007 – Denver Broncos – Jarvis Moss, DE – Florida
2008 – Detroit Lions – Gosder Cherilus, OT – Boston College
2009 – Tampa Bay Buccaneers – Josh Freeman, QB – Kansas State
2010 – San Francisco 49ers – Mike Iupati, G  – Idaho
2011 – New England Patriots – Nate Solder, OT – Colorado
2012 – Cincinnati Bengals – Dre Kirkpatrick, CB – Alabama
2013 – Pittsburgh Steelers – Jarvis Jones, LB – Georgia

Next Cowboys Game Full schedule »
Monday, Oct 2727 Oct7:30Washington RedskinsBuy Tickets

Tags: 16th Overall Pick 17th Overall Pick 2014 NFL Draft Coin Flip Dallas Cowboys

comments powered by Disqus