Just the Facts: Raiders-Cowboys

Next2 of 10Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse



Since 1990, when the playoff formats were last altered, 45 of the 276 playoff-qualifying teams — sixteen percent — had 6-5 records. Of those 45 teams, 16/45 were division winners. Of those 16 division winners, 11/16 won a playoff game.

The Dallas Cowboys have only ever been 6-5 four times in franchise history: 1974, 1991, 1997, and 1999. Only the 1991 and 1999 teams made the playoffs, and only the 1991 team won a playoff game.


The Dallas Cowboys are 4-6 against the Oakland Raiders. Here is the breakdown by stadium:

O.co Coliseum: 2-3

Texas Stadium: 0-3

LA Memorial Coliseum: 1-0

AT&T Stadium: 1-0


The Raiders are the only team to have gone undefeated in Texas Stadium by multiple games.


Here is a list of the past ten games between the Cowboys and Raiders along with a list of the coaches and starting quarterbacks:

1974 – Dallas-Oakland – Staubach/Landry, Stabler/Madden

1980 – Dallas-Oakland – White/Landry, Plunkett/Flores

1983 – LA Raiders-Dallas – White/Landry, Plunkett/Flores

1986 – LA Raiders-Dallas – Pelleur/Landry, Wilson/Flores

1992 – Dallas-LA Raiders – Aikman/Johnson, Marinovich/Shell

1995 – Dallas-Oakland – Aikman/Switzer, Hostetler/White

1998 – Oakland-Dallas – Garrett/Gailey, George/Gruden

2001 – Dallas-Oakland – Carter/Campo, Gannon/Gruden

2005 – Dallas-Oakland – Bledsoe/Parcells, Collins/Turner

2009 – Oakland-Dallas – Romo/Phillips, Gradkowski/Cable


The Dallas Cowboys will wear their blue jerseys at home, the first time this has occurred since 12/8/63 when the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Dallas Cowboys 24-19 in the Cotton Bowl.

Since Jerry Jones’ ownership of the Dallas Cowboys, the Cowboys are 25-29 in their blue uniforms.

The Oakland Raiders will be the 8th AFC team to have played the Dallas Cowboys in their blue uniforms. The San Diego Chargers, Cleveland Browns, New England Patriots, Miami Dolphins, Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Indianapolis Colts are the only other AFC teams to have played Dallas in their blue jerseys.




Since Tony Romo’s first start on 10/29/06, the Oakland Raiders have had 13 different starting quarterbacks: Aaron Brooks (2006), Andrew Walter (2006-08), JaMarcus Russell (2007-09), Josh McCown (2007), Daunte Culpepper (2007), Bruce Gradkowski (2009), Charlie Frye (2009), Jason Campbell (2010-11), Kyle Boller (2011), Carson Palmer (2011-12), Terrelle Pryor (2012-present), Matt Flynn (2013), and Matt McGloin (2013-present).


Tony Romo is 33 years old on this Thanksgiving Day. Here’s how other Cowboys quarterbacks have done when playing a Thanksgiving game at age 33:

Troy Aikman: 16/29, 232 yards, 1 TD (MIA-W)
Danny White: 14/26, 235 yards, 4 TD, 1 INT (Cardinals-W)
Drew Blesdoe: 29/44, 232 yards, 2 TD, 2 INT (DEN-L-OT)


Nov 22, 2012; Arlington, TX, USA; Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (9) calls a play at the line of scrimmage during the game against the Washington Redskins on Thanksgiving at Cowboys Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

Since 2000, when quarterbacks other than Romo have started on Thanksgiving, the Cowboys are 2-5.

Tony Romo’s passer rating is 106.4 on Thanksgiving. His average stats are 24/36 for 301 yards, 3 touchdowns, and 1 interception.

Tony Romo is 7th in the NFL with 262 passes completed.

Tony Romo is tied with Miami’s Ryan Tannehill for 8th in the NFL with 408 passes thrown.

Tony Romo is 8th in the NFL with 2,896 passing yards.

Tony Romo ranks 10th in the league with 266.5 passing yards per game.

Tony Romo is tied for 9th in the league with 37.1 pass attempts per game.

Tony Romo averages 23.8 passes completed per game, which is 7th-best in the NFL.

Tony Romo’s two game-winning drives this season ties him for 5th-most thus far in the league.

Tony Romo is 4th in the NFL with 24 passing touchdowns.

Tony Romo’s 97.2 passer rating ranks 7th place in the league.


Tony Romo is tied for 35th in the league with 7 interceptions after 11 games. Here are Romo’s interception totals after 11 games in previous seasons:

2006: 12

2007: 13

2008: 11

2009: 7

2011: 9

2012: 15


Despite taking only 26 sacks, ranking 12th in the NFL, Tony Romo’s sacked yards lost – 203 – ranks 8th-most in the league.

Tony Romo has had 19 fourth quarter comebacks to only 2 game-winning drives.

Next2 of 10Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Next Cowboys Game Full schedule »
Monday, Oct 2727 Oct7:30Washington RedskinsBuy Tickets

Tags: Dallas Cowboys Thanksgiving The Landry Hat Tony Romo

comments powered by Disqus