2010 Ed Block Courage Award Winner: Sam Hurd

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation hands out an Ed Block Courage Award to a member on all 32 NFL teams each season. The award is given to players to honor them for commitment to the principles of courage and sportsmanship, while serving as an inspiration in the locker rooms and community.

PressBoxOnline.com has done a profile for all 32 winners. The winner for the Dallas Cowboys this season was wide receiver Sam Hurd. Here is his profile:

WR Sam Hurd has been named the Dallas Cowboys’ recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

Hurd overcame offseason surgery to his right thumb – as well as a swirl of trade rumors throughout the summer — to be voted a special teams captain by his teammates and is second on the club with 21 stops. His season came to an end early due to migraines.

Undrafted out of Northern Illinois, the four-year veteran also had one start at wide receiver and has 14 catches for 120 yards. He had a team-high 18 special teams tackles.

Congratulations, Sam!

Next Cowboys Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov12:00Arizona CardinalsBuy Tickets

Tags: Cowboys Dallas Cowboys Ed Block Courage Award NFL Sam Hurd

comments powered by Disqus