Final Roster Released – Questions Arise

The 20 players released by the Cowboys on Saturday are as follows:

OT Will Barker
OG Travis Bright
DE Marcus Dixon
RB Herb Donaldson
TE DajLeon Farr
CB Cletis Gordon
WR Jesse Holley
WR Manny Johnson
OLB Curtis Johnson
CB Bryan McCann
RB Lonyae Miller
LB Steve Octavien
TE Jason Pociask
TE Martin Rucker
DT Jimmy Saddler-McQueen
LB Brandon Sharpe
DE Junior Siavii
OL Mike Tepper
CB Jamar Wall
CB Teddy Williams

Amazingly the Cowboys elected to keep only three true cornerbacks (Jenkins, Newman, and Scandrick).  Alan Ball played both corner and safety in previous years, and Akwasi Owusu-Ansah is athletic enough to either play some corner or play safety while Ball covers the WR.

A few thoughts regarding the cuts:  Siavii and Gordon being cut may come as a surprise; Sean Lissemore and Josh Brent will undoubtedly see the field as rookies; keeping only two tight ends certainly seems like a short term situation; can we finally call it a career for Jesse Holley.

One quick point about Lissemore and Brent – the Cowboys may lose/let go Marcus Spears, Stephen Bowen, and Jason Hatcher.  Consequently, they need to have some young players capable of filling starter roles and are familiar with the defensive system.

Want more from The Landry Hat?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

Comments are closed.

TEAMFeed More Cowboys news from the Fansided Network

NFL Releases 2014 Schedule; TV Info, Start Time, Live Stream and More

Cowboys 2014 Draft First Round Dilemma – Safety or Defensive End?

Dallas Cowboys Possible Quarterback Pick: The Jimmy Garoppolo File

Hot on the Web From